FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

Asia IslandsScuba Diving Asia

The South China Sea

This sea is situated to the south of China and covers an area from Strait of Taiwan in the north to Singapore in the south. It is a wing of the Pacific Ocean.

The South China Sea Islands, also called the Nanhai Islands, is a group of islets, atolls, islands, shoals, and reefs. Most of them are uninhabited. Some of them are even submerged islands.

The major ones are Spratly Islands, The Scarborough Shoal, The Paracel Islands, The Pratas Islands, and The Macclesfield Bank. All these are coral studded islands. The Pratas Islands are situated between Hong Kong and Taiwan. There is also an island that has a volcano.

The South China Sea borders mainland China, Macau, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, Singapore, Taiwan, Cambodia, and Vietnam.

Common animals found here are the green turtle, the hawksbill turtle, and birds like streaked shearwater, red-footed booby, great crested tern, brown booby, and white tern.

About 180 miles from Kota Kinabalu in the South China Sea is the Swallow’s Reef. Layang-Layang, an atoll here is a great place for underwater photography and scuba diving.   

Among the Bilong Islands there are submerged reefs between Pulau Yu Besar and Pulau Yu Kecil. Other diving sites are Batu Tengkorak and Kapak island. At Kapak Island there is an area famous for blue sea anemones. It is named so because it emits a blue light.


Tioman Island is a holiday island. It is also the largest island on the eastern coast of the Malay Peninsula.  There are many natural parks, reserves, eco-resorts, beaches and much more. While Scuba diving you can spot volcanic rocks and formations. There are also a few wreck sites here for adventure divers.



Top Vacations Offers

Home | Travel Asia | Cruise Lines | Airlines | Tour | Mail Us

Yachts Asia
Andaman Nicobar

Coral Reef India

Homestay Kerala, Cochin